We earn a commission from brands listed on this site. This influences the order and manner in which these listings are presented.
Advertising Disclosure

10 Differences Between Horoscopes & Astrology That Only Psychics Know

Head and shoulders photograph of Rozalia Kieliszkiewicz
A psychic explaining a client's astrological chart to them.
The main difference between horoscopes and astrology is the depth of information you can get from an astrological chart. The sun moves between the twelve zodiac signs every year, spending about one month in each sign. Astrology can describe your drive, ambition, individuality, and style, while horoscopes only depict a surface-level picture of who you are.

During a psychic reading, astrology can help you understand the complex core of who you are and what makes you unique. Psychics know that astrology and horoscopes are not the same and that horoscopes only speak about your sun sign, which is only an image of who you are.

1. Astrology Shows the Dualities of Masculine and Feminine Energies

In astrology, the twelve zodiac signs are divided into two groups: masculine and feminine signs. Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, and Aquarius are masculine signs, while Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, and Pisces are feminine signs.

A masculine sign is assertive, direct, and energetic, and a feminine sign is receptive, fluid, and magnetic. Masculine energies are action-oriented, while feminine energies are more reserved. These dualities are found throughout a person's chart and can show where in their life they are more outgoing and where they are more passive and receptive.

2. Astrology Shows How You Maneuver Through Life

The twelve zodiac signs are divided into four elements: fire, earth, water, and air. Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are fire signs; Virgo, Taurus, and Capricorn are earth signs; Scorpio, Pisces, and Cancer are water signs; and Libra, Gemini, and Aquarius are air signs.

Fire signs are active, passionate, and impulsive, and earth signs are grounded, practical, and stable. The water signs are empathic, intuitive, and emotional, and the air signs are intellectual, communicative, and vocal. These elements in a person's chart can determine how they maneuver through life, making them complex and unique.

3. Astrology Depicts Your Innermost Qualities

The twelve zodiac signs are divided into three qualities: cardinal, fixed, and mutable. Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn are cardinal signs. Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are fixed signs. Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces are mutable signs.

Cardinal signs are initiators, leaders, outgoing, and entrepreneurial. Fixed signs are perfectionists who follow through and finish what they start. Mutable signs are versatile, flexible, and adaptable to different circumstances. These qualities vary according to a person's astrology chart and determine how they act in certain areas of their life.

4. Astrology Shows Your Opposite and Who You're Compatible With

The twelve signs are divided into two groups, and each group has a polar opposite sign in the other group. For example, Aries and Libra are opposites. Libra enjoys partnerships, while Aries is all about self-love. Leo and Aquarius are also opposites. Leo is all about pleasure, fun, creativity, and being in the sun, while Aquarius focuses on the bigger picture and looks towards the future.

They say opposites attract. By understanding your sign and its polar opposite, you can learn about who you're compatible with and understand another person's perspective.

5. Astrology Dives Deep Into Our Complex Personalities

Through astrology, we understand that we have a complex personality that differs from someone with a different sun sign. No two Libra suns are the same.

We each have been given ten zodiac signs in our charts. Therefore, our personalities take on the different characteristics of each zodiac sign. So, unless you and your friend both possess the same zodiac signs and planetary placements (which we find at times with biological twins), your general Libra sun horoscope might not resonate in the same way for your Libra friend.

6. Astrology Clarifies Your Past, Present, and Future

General horoscopes focus on the planetary transits that impact the sun sign at any given time, but these predictions fail to describe each planetary transit and how they affect one specific person. A general horoscope is vague and not specific to a singular person.

Astrology also allows a form of forecasting in a person's life. Each person has a south and north node, which depicts the energy of who they were and who they will become. By calculating the time each planet stays in a constellation, a person can predict significant events in their life.

An online psychic on Psychic Source or Keen can read your astrological chart to help you understand yourself and your life on a deeper level.

7. Astrology Indicates How We Express Ourselves

In astrology, we have inner planets that indicate how we communicate, act, think, connect, feel, and show up in the world. These inner planets are sun, moon, ascendant, Mars, Mercury, and Venus.

The sun sign is used in general horoscopes and talks about the ego and how we shine our light, but the planets describe who we are on a personal level.

8. Astrology Can Explain Major Historical Events

In astrology, outer planets (Jupiter, Neptune, Uranus, Saturn, and Pluto) influence collective energies. These planets focus on generational changes in the collective and show the influence of the outside on our worlds. The transit of these planets tends to impact nature and global changes.

Astrology helps us understand major historical events in a way horoscopes cannot.

9. Astrology Focuses on Specific Areas in Your Life

In astrology, we have houses in which planets transit and reside when they enter a constellation. These houses describe an area in our life, such as the Fourth House of Home and Family and the Seventh House of Partnerships and Marriage.

Horoscopes focus on your sun sign's transit and the specific place it enters, but it fails to recognize the transits of the planets in their respective houses. Therefore, a person's general horoscope might not be valuable if they have an essential transit happening within one of their placements.

10. Astrology Points Out Our Strengths and Weaknesses

In astrology, no zodiac sign is the same. Each sign has its personality, character, and affinities.

For example, Aries's lucky day is Tuesday; they enjoy the color red and love sweet pea flowers. They could hurt themselves from fire or sharp objects and are prone to accidents involving fast movement. Libra's lucky day is Friday; they enjoy the color blue and love cosmos flowers. Libras can be indecisive and may disappoint and anger lovers. They quickly stir up love in people and situations.

These strengths and weaknesses can differ throughout a person's chart as we have ten zodiac signs in our astrological chart, while horoscopes only discuss one zodiac sign.

Get to Know Yourself Better Through Astrology

Astrology is a scientific art used throughout centuries to understand the personalities of important historical figures, natural disasters, and global events. It provides more useful, accurate, and specific information than horoscopes.

Head and shoulders photograph of Rozalia Kieliszkiewicz
Rozalia is a Holistic Health and Spiritual Writer who writes for Top10.com. In addition, she is a professional Spiritual advisor trained in Tarot Divination, Astrology, Reiki Healing, and Dream Analysis. Her background as a Nutritionist and Fitness Trainer allows her to look at the whole Body, Mind and Spiritual Connection.