The listings featured on this site are from companies from which this site receives compensation. This influences where, how and in what order such listings appear on this site.
Advertising Disclosure
Our Most Popular

Cerebral Online Therapy Review (2023)

Affordable therapy & mental health services
By Top10.com StaffBy Top10.com Staff -
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2023
4,985 reviews
by
logo-CEREBRAL
Visit Site
Price
From $85/month
Modes of communication
Phone, video calls, texting, email
Accreditation
Board-certified psychiatrists, physicians, PAs, NPs, PsyD, PHD, LCSW, LMHC, LPC, LCPC, licensed marriage and family therapists

Our Verdict

Is Cerebral Worth It?

Cerebral calls itself a mental health subscription service. It provides telehealth support for various forms of anxiety, depression, and insomnia via a two-tiered approach: talk therapy and proper medication. Cerebral works with the collaborative care therapy model to help clients manage their symptoms and achieve a balanced lifestyle. Best of all, Cerebral works completely online.


Added disclaimer: Cerebral will not  prescribe stimulant medications to ADHD patients, and will only prescribe non-stimulant treatment options at this time

Price
From $85/month
Modes of communication
Phone, video calls, texting, email
Accreditation
Board-certified psychiatrists, physicians, PAs, NPs, PsyD, PHD, LCSW, LMHC, LPC, LCPC, licensed marriage and family therapists

Cerebral at a Glance

9.0
Editorial Score

Affordability

$49 first month, $99 monthly membership, billed monthly
8.6

Therapist Network

Licensed professionals, board-certified psychiatrists, physicians & therapists, variety of specialties
9.8

User Access

Available in every state, accepts some insurance plans but not needed, app, accessibility preferences
9.0

Communication Tools

Video or phone call with prescriber, message therapist through portal any time
8.7

Customer Support

Cancel anytime, month to month subscription, customer care office hours, contact form for other concerns
8.8

Cerebral Pros & Cons

PROS

Online therapy and medication provision
Collaborative care model for maximum, holistic care
Over 150+ worksheets and exercises to accompany therapy sessions

CONS

Therapist capacity dependent on state
Limited scope of disorders treated

Top Cerebral Reviews

Ch
Christopher
3 days ago
Great experience! Highly recommend
The Dr was amazing! Very nice, knowledgeable, and understanding of what I’m going through and what might help me. Got a prescription and now we wait and see if the medication works for me.
JN
Jordan Nevin
3 days ago
Great experience
My therapist and prescriber are both great. They listen and respond as actually people and talking to them is really easy and natural.
Candice Nichols
5 days ago
Judith was a safe space for me
Judith was a safe space for me. I appreciate the time and attention she gave while listening to me.
See all Cerebral reviews

How do I know I can trust this Cerebral review?

Top10.com authors, contributors, and editors are serious about research. We combine our own experience with the services we recommend, with reviews that come from verified users–just like you! Together, with reviews from industry experts, we find the Top 10 best products and services to make sure you can choose with confidence and ease.

Cerebral Cerebral Visit Site

Overview

Cerebral Online Therapy Services Video Review

Cerebral at a Glance

Therapist/Counselor Screening Process

Cerebral works with board-certified psychiatrists, physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners that hold graduate degrees from accredited institutions, including PsyD, PHD, LCSW, LMHC, LPC, LCPC, LMFT, or other recognized degrees.

Cerebral is officially live in all states for all plans, though capacity is dependent on state.

Get Help With:

Cerebral is ideal for the long-term treatment of the various forms of the following disorders:

  • Anxiety 
  • Depression
  • Insomnia 
  • And some cases of bipolar disorder

Types of Sessions Available:

Cerebral has several types of communication messages for its multi-tiered treatment approach. For sessions with your care team, you can choose between phone or video calls. There is also unlimited messaging via the website and app with your care team. 

How Cerebral Works

What’s Unique About Cerebral?

Cerebral is different from other online therapy services in many ways. For one thing, it specializes in specific areas of mental health care. People who are looking for more general or overall mental health proficiency may find this too limited. But for individuals who are suffering from anxiety, depression, and similar disorders, Cerebral can be an invaluable service.

The cost-effective pricing model makes therapy extremely affordable as well. Instead of paying hundreds of dollars for therapy sessions each month, Cerebral uses technology to keep the prices down.

But what really sets this company apart from others is the multi-tiered therapy approach. Known as the collaborative care model, Cerebral’s approach to therapy covers all the bases. It includes talk therapy with a mental health care professional, case-specific medication, and a team of care providers who regularly go over your case to see how you are progressing. The team also checks in with you every month, monitors your medication reactions and treatment, and helps you tailor your treatment if things aren’t progressing properly. This multifaceted treatment plan is proven to be effective in treating and managing mental health disorders.

**It is important to not that if you Cerebral will not prescribe stimulant medications to ADHD patients, and will only prescribe non-stimulant treatment options at this time.

Scheduling Live Chats/Video Chats

The beauty of Cerebral is how straightforward the entire process is. For starters, everything is done online or via the mobile app, so there are no office visits to worry about. Here’s the general process in a nutshell: 

  • Fill out a questionnaire online

Answer a few questions so Cerebral care providers can get to know your symptoms and situation.

  • Choose your subscription

Decide how often and what level of treatment you want based on your situation and needs.

  • Schedule a video or phone call session

You can schedule your session online or using the mobile app. In some cases, you may be able to do your first provider visit immediately. The initial session will help you figure out a treatment plan with a prescribing provider. Subsequent sessions will be with a care provider or therapist for support, advice, and guidance. 

You can schedule appointments under the Appointments and Tasks tabs on your profile page.

  • Get medications monthly 

You’ll have your medication mailed directly to you every month. If you need to adjust your medication, you can discuss this with your care provider. 

  • Monthly chat with care counselor

A monthly chat with a care counselor is included in the Medication & Care Counseling plan. 

This session is for assessing your progress, seeing how the medication is working, and discussing any changes that need to be made to your treatment plan. It’s also a time when you’ll learn new tools for managing your mental health. If you’re on a therapy plan, you’ll meet with your therapist instead of a care counselor.

You can also chat with your care team via online messaging throughout the month.

Cerebral Customer Support

Cerebral has extended customer support hours, and you can get in touch via phone or email for non-treatment related questions or issues. You can also visit the extensive FAQ section or read the informative articles on the Cerebral blog

Support hours:

6 AM - 6 PM PT (Mon - Fri)

7 AM - 4 PM PT (Sat - Sun)

Cerebral Pricing

How Much Does Cerebral Cost?


Medication + Care Management*
Medication + Therapy Plan*
Therapy Plan

Price per month

$30 for the first month, then $85

$139 for the first month, then $325

$99 for the first month, then $259

What’s included

Ongoing video/phone sessions, unlimited messaging, medication delivery costs

Weekly sessions with a licensed therapist, unlimited messaging, medication delivery costs 

Weekly sessions with a licensed therapist 

Cost with in-network insurance

$29 per month + medication copay (if applicable)

$29 per month + medication copay (if applicable)

N/A

Cerebral Cerebral Visit Site

Cerebral has various plans you can choose from depending on what type of treatment you are interested in and how often you and your care team feel you need to meet. Realize, though, that your care team may advise you to take on more sessions. 

One really great thing about Cerebral is that it works with health insurance plans and FSA and HSA accounts. What’s even more impressive is that even if your insurance is considered out of network, Cerebral will submit claims for you so you can get reimbursements if the insurer complies. Cerebral also has special offers running periodically, including $30 for the first month of their Medication & Care Counseling Plan. 

Regardless of whether or not you pay using your insurance plan, Cerebral is still more affordable than traditional in-person therapy. And since the medications are prescribed online and delivered to you, you also save a lot of time on the convenience factor. These add a lot of value for money to the service in our book.

*Medication costs are billed separately from subscriptions and are not included in the overall cost. 

Bottom Line

Anxiety affects more than a quarter of the adult population in the country, but unfortunately many people suffer with this disorder in silence. Cerebral is disrupting the norm by providing an affordable, convenient, and professional way for people to get the mental health care they need quickly and easily. Online sessions are more convenient and cost-effective, and having medications mailed to you regularly is a great service that can help keep your symptoms in check. 

Top10.com's editorial staff is a professional team of editors and writers with dozens of years of experience covering consumer, financial and business products and services.

The author of this article has been paid by Natural Intelligence to write this article. Neither the author nor Natural Intelligence provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or your local emergency number immediately.

Cerebral reviews

Great • Reviews 4,985
on
Excellent
64%
Great
7%
Average
4%
Poor
4%
Bad
21%
Ch
Christopher
3 days ago
Great experience! Highly recommend
The Dr was amazing! Very nice, knowledgeable, and understanding of what I’m going through and what might help me. Got a prescription and now we wait and see if the medication works for me.
JN
Jordan Nevin
3 days ago
Great experience
My therapist and prescriber are both great. They listen and respond as actually people and talking to them is really easy and natural.
Candice Nichols
5 days ago
Judith was a safe space for me
Judith was a safe space for me. I appreciate the time and attention she gave while listening to me.
TP
Tim Price
5 days ago
Cerebral is awesome!
I’ll start by saying I’m bipolar. I’ve found my cocktail of drugs and am happy with where I am. I changed jobs and lost my insurance. I was terrified with the thought of running out of my psych meds. Cerebral providers listened to me, understood that I was on a good mix of meds and continued my prescriptions as is. I’m happy and doing well thanks to Cerebral!
CerebralCerebral
4,985 reviews
by
Visit Site
Top10

Copyright © 2009 - 2023 Natural Intelligence Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Mailing address:

4023 Kennett Pike #50055

Wilmington, DE 19807

Top10.com is designed to help users make confident decisions online, this website contains information about a wide range of products and services. Certain details, including but not limited to prices and special offers, are provided to us directly from our partners and are dynamic and subject to change at any time without prior notice. Though based on meticulous research, the information we share does not constitute legal or professional advice or forecast, and should not be treated as such.

Reproduction in whole or in part is strictly prohibited.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.