Write review

The California Wine Club  - Overall rank

Adjust category ratings

Ease of use

Brand Satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Write review

Share your experience.

People discuss, price, satisfaction level, and more.

Write your review

23 Feb 2020
user review

Your details

user detailsEmail

Write review

Almost done!

Check that everything's correct, fill in your details, and submit your review!.

Anonymous.Today

Your review will be screened by our team

Thank you!

Your review was received.

Expert Review

Customer Reviews

The California Wine Club Review

30 reviews
30 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Top10.com StaffByTop10.com StaffOct. 10, 2019

In a Nutshell

Since its founding in 1990, The California Wine Club has worked with small wineries to bring premium, artisan wines to customers across the country. The company offers 5 different membership levels, and you pay as you go, or easily purchase wine as a gift. It’s a great way to sample premium wine, and also reward friends and loved ones with a thoughtful gift.

pros

  • Personal wine consultants
  • $1 shipping on reorders (plus discounted bottles on reorders)
  • Discounted wine club gifts and VIP tours

cons

  • Relatively limited selection of wines
  • No shipping to Utah or Canada

The California Wine Club The California Wine Club Visit Site

The California Wine Club at a Glance

Price Range
$40.45-$231.00 per month for two bottles, shipping not included. Single bottles range from $8 to $135 for reorder.
Best For
Trying out all types of wine
Order Frequency
Monthly
Bottles per Shipment
2, 3, or 4

Wine Types and Quality

There are all types of wines offered by The California Wine Club, including 13 types of red wine and 12 types of white wine, including champagne. The wines are from California, the Pacific Northwest, Pennsylvania, Europe, Australia, and New Zealand. 

On the The California Wine Club website you can find recipes with wine pairings, wine tasting terms, and all types of tips and fun facts from wine experts, to help you become something of an amateur sommelier, or at least be able to fake it. 

California Wine Club works with small wineries to bring you artisan wines

Membership Options

There are 5 main membership levels you can sign up for with The California Wine Club, depending on how much you want to spend and what type of wine you’d like to receive. With the “Premier Series” wine club you can sample 2 artisan California wines per month; on the “Signature Series” you can receive 2 bottles of limited production California gold medal-winning “wine treasures in reserve”; the “International Series” includes 2 handcrafted wines from vineyards across the world, the “Aged Cabernet Series” features “2 exquisite bottles of Cabernet Sauvignon, aged 8-12 years,” from Napa Valley, and the “Pacific Northwest Series” ships 2 handcrafted Washington or Oregon wines every month.

Pricing

Plan
Bottles/month
Origin of wines
Price
Premier
2
California
$40.45 + shipping
Signature
2, 3, or 4
California
$134.00 + shipping
International
2
France, Germany, Australia, Argentina, and South Africa among others.
$71.00 + shipping
Aged Cabernet Series
2
California
$231.00 + shipping
Pacific Northwest Series
2
Oregon, Washington
$77.00 + shipping

Featured Wines  

1. Victor Vineyards 2015 Roadside Red 

This red comes in a striking bottle with a strutting rooster on the label, seemingly running into traffic. This may be the apocryphal chicken that crossed the road, and if so, the reason may have been to drink wine. Either way, the wine has notes of black cherries, vanilla and oak, and is a customer favorite.  
Cost per bottle: $10.99 

Goes great with: Grilled meat, rich hearty stews, pondering the reasons that flightless birds would enter a roadway. 

2. Serrano Wine 2016 Central Coast Liquid Luck White Wine 

We’ve all heard of “liquid courage” and have usually imbibed in the form of shots bookended by lime and salt. This white blend—“liquid luck”—is more refined fare, a spicy, refreshing, and perfumy wine. Will it be your lucky charm? If you’re popping the cork on this bottle then consider yourself already kind of lucky. 

Cost per bottle: $13.99

Goes great with: A nicoise salad with seared tuna, a cheese plate in a meadow of some sort, entertaining friends with a wine they’ll appreciate. 

3. Flying Goat Cellars 2014 Santa Barbara County Goat Bubbles Brut Cuvee 

Usually you don’t hear the words “goat” or “goat bubbles” when you think of a fine sparkling wine, but that may change once you try a bottle of this brilliantly crafted Brut Cuvee. Flying Goat Cellars (that’s the name of the vineyard, if you were planning on trying to rescue the bewinged goats, or at least open a window in the basement) calls it “a bubbles ballet!” with “notes of sun kissed peach” and red delicious apple, which is quite elegant on the palate. Quite unlike a goat (no offense). 

Cost per bottle: $42.00

Goes great with: Sauteed trout with a butter and caper cream sauce, veal scallopini, and goat tacos. 

Giving the Gift of Wine

For nearly 3 decades, The California Wine Club has made it easy to give wine. In your first gift basket the company will include 2 bonus bottles free of charge, and if you purchase a 3-month gift membership, the company will throw in a free bottle of sparkling wine as well. The website also makes it easy to write and include a gift announcement card to let the recipient know a wine club gift is on the way. 

The California Wine Club The California Wine Club Visit Site

Customer Service

If you have any questions, you can easily contact The California Wine Club by way of a toll-free number, a fax, a local phone line, or by email. There is also a live chat where you can send a query but it may take a while to get a reply. 

Bottom Line

The California Wine Club has spent nearly 30 years shipping premium wines from California and worldwide to customers across the world. It’s a great way to try out artisan wines you might not find at your local grocery store, and also, it has all types of resources to help you learn to appreciate the world of wine.

Top10.com StaffByTop10.com StaffJun. 18, 2019
Our editorial staff is comprised of writers who are passionate about the world of online consumer services. We specialize in simplifying the process of choosing the right wine club service for your needs.

The California Wine Club customer reviews

Based on 30 reviews

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Top reviews

J**f, SC
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Wine is my specialty and this is the best way to connect with other wine lovers. The subscription is also a great way to try all the newest brands and become a wine expert.

M**e, MI
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Have great brochures. The California Wine Club has a great variety of wines to select from. Prices are very fair.

J***s, DE
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

They offer great product and customer service and I generally enjoy being a member of the California wine club and have recommended them to a number of friends that have also joined!

J***n, OH
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Great quality service great products and a great environment to having wine get customer satisfaction

D***d, GA
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Because they produce a very fine wine at a very affordable price and thus far they have been unmatched.

D***E, CA
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Great customer services, good selection and product, reasonable price with different range of wine.

M******e, OH
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Because they provide awesome wine to drink and deliver .I would honestly say I rather purchase wine from them vs. going to the store.

J**n, LA
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I fine that the California Wine Club provides wines that taste is lovely and fresh. They are tastefully prepared.

R***n, NJ
5 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The California Wine Club always offers new and unique wines that are affordable. The also provide ratings on new wines.

C******d, OH
5 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I give it a top rating for the wine selections variety, prices, and delivery, also the delicious taste of the wines. Great service!

S***y, PA
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The quality of the wine is unmatched. I love receiving the best wines without having to do my own research and stopping at the store.

D****s, SC
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

We thoroughly enjoy the variety of wine available and always receive shipment on time.

E***M, OH
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I am always surprised by the selections. I've been a wine drinker for many decades and did not imagine (before I joined CWC)how much variety and fun I was missing.

J*m, AK
5 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

This subscription is worth the money. They have such great quality of wine and the taste is so good. Love it!

T**i, AL
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I enjoyed the mailers the wine club would send offering great deals on their wine selection.

J**k, PA
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Signing up was very easy and I had a variety of options to choose from. So far I have enjoyed all the wines that I have received from them.

T*****a, MI
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

They have great wine. Also the pricing is really good. They also care about customer satisfaction.

L***a, CO
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The variety of wine I received, covered the whole spectrum of my personal taste. I enjoyed the information sent along with each selection.

J***s, IA
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Good wine, fair price, and the wine was delivered on time. I like the wine selection and the offerings

C******y, TX
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

They have some of the best selections of wines! I'll be a customer and member as long as the club is open.

S****y, IL
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Got a great value! Loved the wines that were sent to me. I definitely felt I got real value for my money .

J****h, CA
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The selection offers a wide variety of vineyards and the prices are very reasonable. Shipping is prompt too.

L****e, IL
5 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Wine was great but not all varieties were for me. Would really like a more personalized selection

S***n, RI
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It is easy to use and gives useful detailed information about the wines. We have ordered a wine subscription as a gift from their site and it was well received.

L*s, SC
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The club was more cost efficient then I thought it would be and the wine were very good for that price.

J*y, MI
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I liked the selection of wines I received, the convenience of receiving them in the mail and the good follow up from customer care.

J*s, AZ
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

We are happy with their service and quality. They try hard to keep us as customers with great product and customer service

M*****a, PA
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The wine club is great. Its in my price range. They have a lot if wines that I like. They are get customer oriented and they have great customer service.

R***n, KS
5 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

This was a gift so I cannot speak to the value for my money. It has been a fun club. I am pleased with the ease of transferring my delivery to another location when I cannot be home for the delivery.

L**n, PA
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

it's a great deal for sure and the wine tastes great. I am definitely staying a member of this club

30 reviews