In the wake of the Coronavirus, we’re adapting our lists to meet your changing needs, so you can still do it all.

Expert Review

Customer Reviews

Quickbooks Review

30 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

30 reviews
Top10.com StaffByTop10.com StaffDec. 26, 2018

In a Nutshell

From filing all local, state, and federal taxes to sending employee paystubs and W-2’s, Quickbooks offers a comprehensive feature suite to help businesses focus their efforts. It’s a complete payroll platform that integrates with benefits and workers’ comp, so you can manage everything in one place.

pros

  • Flexible payment schedules
  • Automated new hire reporting

cons

  • No card payment options
  • Small selection of reports

Quickbooks Quickbooks Visit Site

Features and Add-ons

Quickbooks has a leg up on the competition when you factor in its simplified pricing model and all-inclusive features. There’s no additional buy-in required from premium services compared to competitor payroll solutions, and the laundry list of features is a mile long.

Payroll services with Quickbooks includes (but isn’t limited to):

  • Automated new-hire reporting
  • Employee portal for easy personal updates
  • Automatic tax processing
  • Automated payroll processing (run payroll on autopilot)
  • Unlimited payroll runs (you don’t pay per run)
  • Detailed payroll reporting
  • Flexible schedule with employees paid on different schedules based on your classification
  • Simple collaboration tools so bookkeepers can work more closely with accounting and other team members
  • Pre-tax benefits including HAS, FSA, IRA and 401(k) processing
  • Mobile accessibility

Tax Compliance

Quickbooks offers an impressive approach to tax filing, providing accurate and automatic deductions and filing of all payroll taxes. The platform automatically calculates, pays and files all of your local, state, and federal payroll taxes. There’s no additional cost—it’s completely done for you. Along with that is an accuracy guarantee so you never have to worry about fines from improper calculations.

Payment Options

Getting employees paid is easy, with free direct deposit for employees and the ability to print checks on site when payday comes. Processing payroll happens quickly so getting payments to your employees is never a stalled process that takes several days with other payroll providers.

Quickbooks payroll software

Unfortunately, Quickbooks doesn’t offer payments through card services like prepaid cards.

Pricing & Fees

Quickbooks has a simple pricing model that you can adjust on a sliding scale on the website to see how much the service will cost you. It’s always a base price of $39 per month plus an additional $6 per employee.

The per employee price is a bit higher than others, as competitors tend to charge closer to $2-3 per employee however Quickbooks bundles a lot more features into the service making it a fair trade off.


Core
Complete
Concierge
Monthly price
$6/user + $39/month
$12/user + $39/month
$12/user + $149/month
Tax filings and payments
 ✓
 ✓
 ✓
Payroll reports
 ✓
 ✓
 ✓
E-sign custom documents

 ✓
 ✓
HR Compliance help


 ✓

*Prices last updated June 2018

There is a free trial in place, giving you the opportunity to try the service before making a commitment.

Quickbooks Quickbooks Visit Site

Usability

Payroll is a complex set of data and tasks but Quickbooks simplifies the entire process with a visual appeal that is intuitive and easy to use. That applies not only to the administrative portal but the employee portal as well. The only downside is that there are fewer reports to be accessed on the backend compared to other payroll services which can be a usability limitation for data minded administrators.

Conclusion

Quickbooks has a lot of competition on the market but the simplified pricing and rich feature set makes it pretty evenly matched with some of the biggest names in payroll processing, even just a bit ahead. You would be hard pressed to find this many features at a more reasonable price.

Top10.com StaffByTop10.com StaffJun. 18, 2019
Our editorial staff is comprised of writers who are knowledgeable about business services. We specialize in simplifying the process of choosing the right payroll system for your business.

Quickbooks customer reviews

Based on 30 reviews

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Write review

Adjust category ratings

Ease of use

0 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Brand satisfaction

0 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Value for money

0 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Service quality

0 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Share your experience

People discuss, price, satisfaction level and more.

Write your review

31 Mar 2020

Almost done!

Check that everything's correct, fill in your details, and submit your review!

Anonymous.
0 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Today

Thank you!

Top reviews

A***e, CO
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Love how easy it is to use. I love the customer service contact options and the quality of customer service. I enjoy using the program for work, but love that it can be used for personal finances too.

A*****a, TX
4 months ago

Quickbooks is very user friendly and is linked to my business accounts. It saves time and it allows me to stay in control of my business finances.

B***e, NC
3 months ago

We have been using Quickbooks for over 25 years. It is easy to use, service is great. They constantly keep improving the product. The payroll selection is a true labor saver

D*n, DE
2 months ago

Eliminates need for accountants and lawyers. A true do it yourself experience. No nonsense and no hassle.

C***y, AL
a month ago

I've used Quickbooks for several years for my husband's business. It is an economical way for me to keep up with monthly expenses, invoices, and payroll. It is also relatively user-friendly, and I plan to continue using it.

J**k, CA
4 months ago

I've been using quickbooks for over 20 years and its been a super easy software to use, grow with and expand as my company grew.

L***y, OH
5 months ago

Quickbooks is very easy to use program to help you do the company payroll. It figures all calculations that are necessary and allows you to print all the relevant reports that you may need to study for ways to reduce costs or cut unused job time.

J***e, CA
2 months ago

I'm a fan of programs that allow me to spend more time doing things I like versus things I have to do. Quickbooks does exactly that.

R*y, KS
5 months ago

This allows our business to function well for a reasonable fee, and removes the need to pay an accountant.

V******a, ME
5 months ago

Quickbooks really ticks all of the boxes of making a great company. Good customer relations along with quality products and great pricing.

S***y, KY
6 months ago

Quickbooks is very good for tracking a business. It's organized and has a good system of a register of multiple accounts. Pretty intuitive, relatively user friendly (some issues with interface). We use it for our business (checking account, invoicing, accounts receivable).

T*a, UT
2 months ago

User friendly and appreciate the tax/payroll related updates to remain in compliance with regulations.

B*b, FL
3 months ago

It is a useful tool that others in my business can use. It is a quick program to learn and is sold for a fair price.

G**l, TN
2 months ago

Our company has used Quickbooks for well over a decade. It has always offered the latest technology to keep our business running smooth. We always highly recommend it.

J*n, TX
a month ago

I have few problems with this company. Prices are fair and customer service is good when you need to call them

E***n, CA
4 months ago

I am able to keep track of all my accounts via quick books. The software is very intuitive and easy to use.

C*****e, CA
4 months ago

we're still kind of new to quickbooks payroll but are getting the hang of it. We use quickbooks for our accounting so it was a natural fit

N****e, PA
6 months ago

Easy to store information and keeps accounts in an easy format that you are able to understand

R*b, CO
3 months ago

I feel like their software works really well, I haven't had any issues with them but I do feel like I could get a similar level of service for a lower price.

G****n, MI
a month ago

Overall the software is a good. There are a few portions that are complicated initially. There are other applications that are more cost effective but quickbooks is very comprehensive

30 reviews