The listings featured on this site are from companies from which this site receives compensation. This influences where, how and in what order such listings appear on this site.
Advertising Disclosure

ADP Review (2024)

Health Benefits And 401(K) Plan Management
By Top10.com StaffBy Top10.com Staff -
Last Updated: Jul 04, 2023
2,396 reviews
by
logo-ADP
Visit Site
Pricing
From $39
Integrations
QuickBooks, Wave, Xero
Benefits & HR
401k, SIRA, SEP IRA, health, workers’ comp

Our Verdict

Is ADP Worth Signing Up For?

ADP offers multiple bundles for payroll processing, including a la carte options and value-added services. This makes for an affordable, customizable solution for growing businesses of any size.

Pricing
From $39
Integrations
QuickBooks, Wave, Xero
Benefits & HR
401k, SIRA, SEP IRA, health, workers’ comp

ADP at a Glance

9.5
Editorial Score

Automatic Tax Filing

Payroll taxes are calculated, deducted and paid automatically; no additional charges
10.0

HR Features

Add-on basic & premium HR packages with insurance, workers comp, retirement tools are separate
8.0

Employee Experience

Mobile app allows employees to see info & time tracking; some tasks need a seperate app
9.5

Customer Service

24/7 support from certified payroll experts
10.0

Trials

3 months free
10.0

ADP Pros & Cons

PROS

Tax, HR and Benefits management
Over 50+ customizable payroll reports

CONS

No individual dedicated account representative
Payment options may be limited based on subscription

Top ADP Reviews

Yo
Yousif
I just want to check if any one can…
I just want to check if any one can write reviews here and I guess they can
CZ
Amazing ADP service.
Thru the years and in many companies I have used ADP. It always been fine/reliable, but on my last interaction they were better than any service I ever used. It was like if they were waiting for my call with the nicest agent, Mhel case #38966164, babysitting me on the phone until my issue was resolved. I wish every interaction with a help desk could be as nice as she was.
Affluent Limo Philly
MARCH 7 UPDATE *** MUST READ ***
UPDATE AS OF MARCH 7TH 2023 : I WAS CONTACTED BY THE ADP CRO AND HE WAS VERY PATIENT WITH MY CONCERNS AND UPON HEARING MY SIDE OF THE STORY , HE OFFERED COMPENSATION AS WELL WHICH WAS MUTUALLY AGREED UPON BY BOTH OF US AND I CAME BACK HERE TO SAY THAT ALTHOUGH THE INITIAL EXPERIENCE WAS SOUR .. HIS CALL , HIS EXPLANATION IF THE ADP SERVICES CLEARED THE CLOUDS AND HIS TIME & PATIENCE MADE IT ALL VERY PLEASANT . ALTHOUGH I AM A SMALL BUSINESS OWNER, BUT GOD WILLING IF AND WHEN I GROW TO BE IN NEED FOR A COMPANY TO HANDLE PAYROLL FOR A SIZEABLE COMPANY , I MUST SAY ADP WILL NOW BE AMONG THE TOP OF MY CONSIDERATIONS .. I AM SINCERELY THANKFUL TO MR. PETER FOR HIS PROMPT RESPONSE . *** MUST READ *** BUNCH OF FRAUDS WORKING HERE . DONT EVER SIGN UP WITH THEM .. I SIGNED UP I JANUARY WITH SALES MANAGER COLON BECAUSE I OPENED A BUSINESS CARD WITH BANK OF AMERICA . HE ASSURED ME 30 DOLLARD PER MONTH FLAT FEE DUE TO ME BEING A BANK OF AMERICA BUSINESS CUSTOMER. AFTER SIGNING UP , HE NEVER COMMUNICATED MY DISCOUNTED PRICE TO ADP TEAM WHICH I FOUND OUT AFTER AND ADP STARTED CHARGING ME 60 DOLLARS PER WEEK OF PAYROLL .. I TERMINATED MY CONTRACT ON FEB 20TH 2023 , AND THEY TOOK ANOTHER 59.46 ON FEB 24TH ... I CALLED ON FEB 27TH TO FIND OUT WHY AND WAS TOLD THEY RUN PAYROLL A WEEK BEHIND AND THEREFORE WON'T ISSUE REFUND . BECAUSE OF THIS SALES MANAGER COLON I HAD THE MOST TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE OF PAYROLL AND ALL THE MISLEADING INFORMATION PROVIDED. I RECOMMEND HIRING YOUR ACCOUNTANT THAN THESE CROOKS .. AFFLUENT LIMOUSINE SERVICES LLC SUNNY ( OWNER )
See all ADP reviews

How do I know I can trust this ADP review?

Top10.com authors, contributors, and editors are serious about research. We combine our own experience with the services we recommend, with reviews that come from verified users–just like you! Together, with reviews from industry experts, we find the Top 10 best products and services to make sure you can choose with confidence and ease.

ADP ADP Visit Site

Overview

How ADP Works

Features and Add-ons

ADP offers one of the most comprehensive selections of features, providing an all-in-one solution for growing businesses who need a better way to manage payroll.

Beyond the standard payroll management and processing there are a number of features for payroll administrations and HR representatives to take advantage of including:

  • Taxes are calculated, deducted and paid automatically
  • Integrate time tracking with payroll
  • 24/7 support from certified payroll experts
  • Synchronize with 3rd-party applications such as Quickbooks
  • Put recurring payroll on autopilot
  • Benefits administration including PTO accrual

There are also a range of special features, including:

  • Self-service online portals for employees (including eLogin for online time tracking)
  • Check printing with alternate payment options (depending on service/subscription level)
  • Check signing and check stuffing service available
  • Email reminders
  • Email trigger alerts for security changes (like bank changes or security-related changes)
  • Government regulatory compliance, including unemployment insurance and poster compliance programs.
  • Comprehensive reporting with over 50 reports that can be viewed, printed or downloaded in PDF or Excel format.

Tax Compliance

Rather than wrestle with tax compliance and take risks with the IRS, ADP will file handle the payment of all payroll related taxes. This includes handling the deductions automatically from employee paychecks as well as timely payments of tax obligations as needed.

ADP’s compliance program guarantees that all taxes will be accurate as long as your team has provided accurate payroll data for each employee. If an error is discovered, ADP handles any fees or fines from the government—if fault is found with its processing.

Part of tax compliance with ADP also involves new employee reporting at the state and federal level, and will process W2s (employees) and 1099s (contractors) at the end of each year for a small additional fee.

Payment Options

ADP offers a number of standard payment options including giving employees the ability to receive direct deposit payments. If you prefer to pay employees by check you can either print paychecks on site complete with paystub or ADP can provide check stuffing and mailing services.

Check signing and stuffing services are available with an Enhanced Payroll bundle and are not a standard service offering.

ADP offers multiple ways to track pay and handle payment for employees ranging from contract workers to hourly and salaried employees. You can customize how payroll is completed with custom pay cycles such as weekly or bi-weekly, or on specific dates each month. Running any off-cycle payments won’t interfere with or cancel regular payroll cycles for your team.

ADP App

One of the benefits of a cloud-based platform is usability. ADP walks you through setting up your payroll deductions and earning, with simple wizards that prevent errors during the setup process.The simplified interface for administration as well as for employee access makes it easy to find and manage information or update records.

Managing payroll is a simple 3-step process involving entering payroll data for employees, previewing the payroll for approval with a summary of entries once completed. If time tracking is utilized through ADP, any time entered for employees is automatically calculating, making payroll processing that much easier.

The simplified, tabbed interface makes it easy to move between company and employee records for easy record updates, communicate with employees with internal messaging or to fetch data and reports.

ADP ADP Visit Site

Pricing & Special Offers

Prices vary greatly for outsourced payroll services from ADP, primarily based on the number of employees. Other factors also come into play, as ADP offers 4 different payroll processing bundles, each offering progressively more features.

The Essential payroll bundle provides all the basic payroll and tax filing services a small business may need, while the Enhanced Payroll offers more comprehensive features including more payment options.

The Complete bundle delivers ADP’s latest HR tools such as live HR support, employee handbook wizard, proactive compliance alerts, HR guidance and forms, and a job description wizard.  HR Pro then tops off the bundles with a comprehensive suite of HR tools such as a proactive HR support team, employer/employee training, and business/marketing tools and consulting.

ADP does not publish its prices publically, but according to price quotes we got from the company, the average cost to process payroll per employee for companies with fewer than 50 employees is $388 annually.

Bottom Line

ADP’s small business payroll service is geared toward companies with anywhere from 1 to 50 employees. The ADP solution simplifies payroll and HR with a comprehensive set of easy-to-use tools, all backed by ADP’s small business expertise. It’s a good option for businesses that need a reliable payroll processor backed by a solid brand name.

Top10.com's editorial staff is a professional team of editors and writers with dozens of years of experience covering consumer, financial and business products and services.

ADP reviews

Bad • Reviews 2,396
on
Excellent
48%
Great
10%
Average
3%
Poor
3%
Bad
37%
Sort by
Yo
Yousif
3 days ago
I just want to check if any one can…
I just want to check if any one can write reviews here and I guess they can
CZ
3 weeks ago
Amazing ADP service.
Thru the years and in many companies I have used ADP. It always been fine/reliable, but on my last interaction they were better than any service I ever used. It was like if they were waiting for my call with the nicest agent, Mhel case #38966164, babysitting me on the phone until my issue was resolved. I wish every interaction with a help desk could be as nice as she was.
Affluent Limo Philly
12 months ago
MARCH 7 UPDATE *** MUST READ ***
UPDATE AS OF MARCH 7TH 2023 : I WAS CONTACTED BY THE ADP CRO AND HE WAS VERY PATIENT WITH MY CONCERNS AND UPON HEARING MY SIDE OF THE STORY , HE OFFERED COMPENSATION AS WELL WHICH WAS MUTUALLY AGREED UPON BY BOTH OF US AND I CAME BACK HERE TO SAY THAT ALTHOUGH THE INITIAL EXPERIENCE WAS SOUR .. HIS CALL , HIS EXPLANATION IF THE ADP SERVICES CLEARED THE CLOUDS AND HIS TIME & PATIENCE MADE IT ALL VERY PLEASANT . ALTHOUGH I AM A SMALL BUSINESS OWNER, BUT GOD WILLING IF AND WHEN I GROW TO BE IN NEED FOR A COMPANY TO HANDLE PAYROLL FOR A SIZEABLE COMPANY , I MUST SAY ADP WILL NOW BE AMONG THE TOP OF MY CONSIDERATIONS .. I AM SINCERELY THANKFUL TO MR. PETER FOR HIS PROMPT RESPONSE . *** MUST READ *** BUNCH OF FRAUDS WORKING HERE . DONT EVER SIGN UP WITH THEM .. I SIGNED UP I JANUARY WITH SALES MANAGER COLON BECAUSE I OPENED A BUSINESS CARD WITH BANK OF AMERICA . HE ASSURED ME 30 DOLLARD PER MONTH FLAT FEE DUE TO ME BEING A BANK OF AMERICA BUSINESS CUSTOMER. AFTER SIGNING UP , HE NEVER COMMUNICATED MY DISCOUNTED PRICE TO ADP TEAM WHICH I FOUND OUT AFTER AND ADP STARTED CHARGING ME 60 DOLLARS PER WEEK OF PAYROLL .. I TERMINATED MY CONTRACT ON FEB 20TH 2023 , AND THEY TOOK ANOTHER 59.46 ON FEB 24TH ... I CALLED ON FEB 27TH TO FIND OUT WHY AND WAS TOLD THEY RUN PAYROLL A WEEK BEHIND AND THEREFORE WON'T ISSUE REFUND . BECAUSE OF THIS SALES MANAGER COLON I HAD THE MOST TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE OF PAYROLL AND ALL THE MISLEADING INFORMATION PROVIDED. I RECOMMEND HIRING YOUR ACCOUNTANT THAN THESE CROOKS .. AFFLUENT LIMOUSINE SERVICES LLC SUNNY ( OWNER )
SO
Sue ONeill
1 year ago
Adam the plumber
Adam, was great to deal with, he was on time, efficient and gave me ideas about what to do in my bathroom. I would highly recommend him to anyone. Also he put gas water in with no problems at all, and at a great price.

Copyright © 2009 - 2024 Natural Intelligence Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Mailing address:

4023 Kennett Pike #50055

Wilmington, DE 19807

Top10.com is designed to help users make confident decisions online, this website contains information about a wide range of products and services. Certain details, including but not limited to prices and special offers, are provided to us directly from our partners and are dynamic and subject to change at any time without prior notice. Though based on meticulous research, the information we share does not constitute legal or professional advice or forecast, and should not be treated as such.

Reproduction in whole or in part is strictly prohibited.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.