We earn a commission from brands listed on this site. This influences the order and manner in which these listings are presented.
Advertising Disclosure

ADT Medical Alert Review (2024)

By Top10.com StaffBy Top10.com Staff -
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2024
4,163 reviews
by
logo-ADT
FREE two-day shipping & activation
Visit Site
Monthly Monitoring Fees
$31.99 - $41.99
Connection
Cellular, landline, WiFi, GPS
Activation Fees
Yes

Our Verdict

Is ADT Medical Alert Worth Signing Up For?

ADT offers competitively priced medical alert home and mobile monitoring systems. With one press of the help button you will connect to trained experts who can assess your situation, call emergency services, and get in touch with your family. With 4 monitoring centers located in the US, and owned and operated by ADT, answering over 19 million alarm signals, ADT is one of the industry’s most trustworthy companies.

Monthly Monitoring Fees
$31.99 - $41.99
Connection
Cellular, landline, WiFi, GPS
Activation Fees
Yes

ADT at a Glance

9.3
Editorial Score

Products

3 solutions; Wearable pendant option
9.0

Features

Fall detection; Waterproof; 2-way communication
10.0

Connectivity/Mobility

Both at-home and on-the go solutions; GPS, Wifi and landline connectivity available
9.5

Alerts

US-based monitoring center responds to help button or falls. Calls and provides 24/7 emergency support
9.5

Online Experience

User-friendly website; No mobile app
8.5

ADT Pros & Cons

PROS

Senior-sensitive trained experts
Lifetime warranty
Free quote

CONS

No fire/smoke monitoring
No daily check in service

Top ADT Reviews

Way Mitchell
Service call in Maryland June 2024
Service call in Maryland June 2024. Service Technician Devar Battle did an outstanding job. We were having a sensor problem. That problem was fixed but then another problem occurred. He stayed with us over 4 hours to fix our issues. He was very patient and wanted to satisfy us before he left us. Thank you Devar.
DT
Dennis de Tray
Great online service.
One of our sensors fell off. With Dennis's help, I was able to get it working again.
John Smith
A super friendly and nice lady named…
A super friendly and nice lady named Lindsay out of the NH office. Works in account management. She went above and beyond the call of duty for my services needed. She should be an employee which ADT should be proud!! Jim Coffey
See all ADT reviews

How do I know I can trust this ADT review?

Top10.com authors, contributors, and editors are serious about research. We combine our own experience with the services we recommend, with reviews that come from verified users–just like you! Together, with reviews from industry experts, we find the Top 10 best products and services to make sure you can choose with confidence and ease.

ADT ADT Visit Site

Overview

How ADT Medical Alert Works

Monitoring Services

ADT  Medical Alerts offers a fast and smart response at the push of a button. From either the base unit or a pendant, pressing the help button will immediately alert a senior-sensitive trained expert in-house at ADT to help you directly. If you are on the phone, your call will be bypassed so you never have to wait for assistance. The expert can then assess your situation, contact and dispatch emergency services to your home or mobile location and even keep your family up to date with the situation as needed.

ADT offers temperature monitoring services to make sure that the resident is notified if the temperature moved out of the normal range. You can test the unit yourself, and ADT recommends you do this monthly to make sure it is working correctly.

Product Features

ADT Medical Alerts work up to 600 feet from the base unit, which means you should be fine to move freely around your home and garden. If you would like protection and security on the move, ADT offers an On-The-Go solution which may suit more active needs, and comes with a GPS locator so the right help can always find you.

Remember, you cannot speak through the help button on the pendant or bracelet when at home, only through the base unit itself. The unit is portable so you can take it with you on vacation or anywhere else, if you need.

Fall detection can be purchased separately, for a small additional monthly fee. In under a minute, ADT staff can recognise a fall and get in touch directly, dispatching emergency services if necessary and getting in touch with loved ones, 24/7/365.

Installation Process

All of your equipment will be shipped at no additional cost*, complete with instructions so that you or a loved one can get your system set up quickly and efficiently. There are user manuals online to download as well as a setup phone line if you need any help whatsoever. The On-The-Go mobile solution has no additional elements in order to run smoothly. It runs wirelessly, and therefore does not need a phone line. It has built-in GPS so that your location is always clear to monitors. The Medical Alert Plus system also works wirelessly, without the need for a landline phone. 

The Basic option will run off your landline, so you will need a POTS installed if you want to opt for this cheaper choice. However, if your power goes out at any time, the system will work off a battery installed in the unit, so you don’t have to worry about outages.

ADT Health Support & Customer Service

ADT has a number of ways to get in touch, both before you sign up and once you’re using a medical alert system. The help center allows you to browse hundreds of FAQs about ADT systems and services, including video tutorials and step-by-step instructions for setup and features. Your medical alert is shipped to you along with instructions, and there is a toll free number to call if you need any setup assistance. You can download the system manuals or user guides to help you or a loved one get started in no time. ADT also has mobile apps for both iPhone and Android. From the website you can access live chat, phone numbers and email support, as well as live tweeting help from @askADT.

ADT Health Medical Alert Services Pricing

Basic System
ADT Medical Alert Plus System
On-The-Go Emergency Response System
Fall Detection
$29.99/month & up
$37.99/month & up
$39.99/month & up
$11.00/month

There are three options available, at three monthly costs. The On-The-Go system is the most expensive at $39.99 per month, with fall detection available for an extra cost. You can choose between Medical Alert Basic for $29.99 per month or Plus for $37.99 per month. The main difference between the two is whether you will need a landline.

ADT ADT Visit Site

The Bottom Line

ADT Medical Alert monitoring services are proving to be just as dependable as the company’s home security solution, with reliable at-home and on-the-go devices for active seniors looking to maintain this lifestyle. ADT provides added security and peace of mind for you and your loved ones.

*Excludes applicable taxes or modifications to services after initial purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions
Does ADT have a medical alert system?+-

Yes, ADT Health offers medical alert systems with mobile and at-home options and various features including fall detection technology.

How fast is the ADT Health response time?+-

ADT has 6 US-based monitoring centers across the US staffed by trained professionals available 24/7 to respond immediately to alerts and notify the necessary responders.

How much does ADT Health cost?+-

The basic medical alert plan from ADT starts at $29.99 per month, with fall detection services costing an additional $10 per month. The on-the-go system starts at $39.99 per month and includes fall detection.

Top10.com's editorial staff is a professional team of editors and writers with dozens of years of experience covering consumer, financial and business products and services.

The author of this article has been paid by Natural Intelligence to write this article. Neither the author nor Natural Intelligence provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or your local emergency number immediately.

ADT reviews

Bad • Reviews 4,163
on
Excellent
6%
Great
1%
Average
1%
Poor
3%
Bad
90%
Sort by
Way Mitchell
1 week ago
Service call in Maryland June 2024
Service call in Maryland June 2024. Service Technician Devar Battle did an outstanding job. We were having a sensor problem. That problem was fixed but then another problem occurred. He stayed with us over 4 hours to fix our issues. He was very patient and wanted to satisfy us before he left us. Thank you Devar.
DT
Dennis de Tray
1 month ago
Great online service.
One of our sensors fell off. With Dennis's help, I was able to get it working again.
John Smith
2 months ago
A super friendly and nice lady named…
A super friendly and nice lady named Lindsay out of the NH office. Works in account management. She went above and beyond the call of duty for my services needed. She should be an employee which ADT should be proud!! Jim Coffey
KC
Kelly C
2 months ago
Alejandro was so helpful and friendly
Alejandro was so helpful and friendly. He went over and above to try to solve our problem. He even called back the next day to make sure our system was working to our satisfaction.

Copyright © 2009 - 2024 Natural Intelligence Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Mailing address:

4023 Kennett Pike #50055

Wilmington, DE 19807

Top10.com is designed to help users make confident decisions online, this website contains information about a wide range of products and services. Certain details, including but not limited to prices and special offers, are provided to us directly from our partners and are dynamic and subject to change at any time without prior notice. Though based on meticulous research, the information we share does not constitute legal or professional advice or forecast, and should not be treated as such.

Reproduction in whole or in part is strictly prohibited.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.