The listings featured on this site are from companies from which this site receives compensation. This influences where, how and in what order such listings appear on this site.
Advertising Disclosure

Nutshell CRM Review (2024)

Handy and ultra-customizable CRM for SMBs
By Serguei SolokhineBy Serguei Solokhine -
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2023
3 reviews
by
logo-NUTSHELL
Visit Site
Price
From $19/user/month
Free Trial
14 days
Integrations
Dropbox, GSuite, HubSpot, Mailchimp, Office365, Quickbooks

Our Verdict

Is Nutshell CRM Worth It?

Nutshell is a powerful CRM program built with ease of setup and use in mind. It is perfect for small businesses and solo users, as it has easy-to-use versions of advanced tools like forecasting and email automation and does not require excessive customization to get up and running. On the other hand, the limited customization options make it less suitable for large organizations.

Price
From $19/user/month
Free Trial
14 days
Integrations
Dropbox, GSuite, HubSpot, Mailchimp, Office365, Quickbooks

Nutshell at a Glance

9.2
Editorial Score

Easy-to-use

Easy to setup and use, limited customization features
9.3

Great for Small Businesses

Advanced features like email automation and forecast reporting
9.2

Automations & Integrations

Wide range of third-party integrations, sales automations
8.6

Reporting & Analytics

Advanced reporting, create simple and visually attractive charts or graphs
9.2

Customer Service

Speak to a live representative by phone or online chat Monday-Friday between 9am and 4pm ET
9.5

Nutshell Pros & Cons

PROS

Easy to set up and use
Powerful but uncomplicated tools
Impressive range of third-party integrations

CONS

Limited customization
Limited mobile app

Top Nutshell Reviews

AS
Asya Sharrow
THE Sales Tool for Small Businesses
I don't know how any sales team could get the job without it. Before Nutshell, my team had no formal method to track or work leads. Adopting this sales tool prompted us to build out a sales process that is now a driving factor in our growth. My team can easily communicate within the system and I have visibility into what's going on. I don't know where we'd be without Nutshell!
MH Antor
Very poor and fraud service provider,
Very poor and fraud service provider, Yesterday I upgraded my account and after 5 minutes my account was frozen today my was expire You’ve updated your Nutshell subscription Thank you for being a Nutshell customer. This email is just to confirm your recent plan change. Check out your new plan details to the right: If you have any questions, check out our help center. Your plan: Nutshell Campaigns- 10,000 contacts Payment amount: $100.00 Next invoice date: Jan 10, 2024 Your subscription has expired We’re sorry to see you go, but we thank you for giving us a try. This email confirms that your Nutshell Campaigns- 10,000 contacts subscription is now expired. Please keep this email for your records. If you have any questions or suggestions for us regarding Nutshell, please contact Your plan: Nutshell Campaigns- 10,000 contacts Payment amount: $100.00 Expires: Dec 11, 2023
MH
Michael Hardman
Very poor service
Very poor service. I received an email and text informing me my insurance was cancelled. There is no contact number available to speak to anyone. I contacted Nutshell through online chat, to be informed that I needed to supply some information (No one has contacted me to ask for it). I would send them the information but have no email contact etc to send it to. I have emailed their info email address and received no reply. I've had vehicle insurance for 40+ years and never experienced this before. Definitely not a happy customer, sorry ex-customer. Policy number: 136034588 01
See all Nutshell reviews

How do I know I can trust this Nutshell review?

Top10.com authors, contributors, and editors are serious about research. We combine our own experience with the services we recommend, with reviews that come from verified users–just like you! Together, with reviews from industry experts, we find the Top 10 best products and services to make sure you can choose with confidence and ease.

Nutshell Nutshell Visit Site

Overview

Nutshell CRM at a Glance

Nutshell offers automated email campaigns and lead management for marketing and sales teams, notes, call and email recording for customer service teams, and visual pipelines and funnel reports to enhance your sales and marketing strategies.

Best for

B2B small businesses with inside sales teams

Key use

Contact management, sales automation, and related reporting

Price

$16-$49/user/month

Free trial

14 days

Tools for Sales Teams

Nutshell offers lead management tools and reporting for sales teams. With lead management, you can enter your leads into the Nutshell database, take notes on customer interactions, and even record outbound voice calls for later review.

Nutshell’s reporting and pipeline tools can help your sales teams plan their business strategy. You can create a visual pipeline and use reporting to see how close you are to meeting your sales goals. You can also see a basic forecast of future sales based on your current and past performance. 

Nutshell also has sales automation tools, including automated email outreach, follow-up scheduling, and data entry. This tool will automatically update information like confidence and closing dates for leads based on preconfigured parameters.

Tools for Marketing Teams

Your company’s marketing team can use Nutshell’s email builder to craft visually attractive emails using a simple, drag-and-drop interface. You can use Nutshell’s range of premade templates or build your own.

You can then create automated email campaigns that use your custom templates and track customer engagement with those campaigns using Nutshell’s Funnel Reports. Funnel reports track customer engagement throughout the sales funnel, from initial contact to successful closing. 

Tools for Customer Support Teams

Nutshell can be used by customer support teams to keep notes on customer interactions and to record outbound phone calls. Unfortunately, it does not yet have support for inbound call recording, which would be a nice feature for customer support teams.

Nutshell also stores email conversations, allowing service reps to quickly and easily look up past client interactions.

Nutshell does not have any specialized features for rewards programs or complaint handling. I would’ve liked to see a little more in this area, especially considering how feature-rich the marketing and sales tools are by comparison.

Customization and Integrations 

Nutshell integrates with most commonly used business software, including Dropbox, the Google Workspace, HubSpot, Mailchimp, Office365, Quickbooks, Slack, and Zendesk. Some programs integrate directly, while others must be connected via Zapier.

Nutshell’s customization options outside of third-party integrations are limited to what’s necessary for a sole proprietor or small organization. You can add your own branding, define access levels for users, and set working hours for your business units. 

While this is not the same depth of customization offered by some competitors like Salesforce or HubSpot, I think it’s perfect for Nutshell’s intended users, as Nutshell is geared towards small businesses and sole proprietors and focuses on simplicity rather than depth of customization.

Reporting and Dashboards

Nutshell can create simple, visually attractive charts on demand. You can pick from preset variables like Sales or Losses and generate a graph showcasing these values at daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or yearly intervals. You can easily download these charts to add to a PowerPoint presentation or report.

Nutshell does offer some slightly more advanced reporting as well. You can create a forecast report that shows your pipeline of projected sales and the quota your team will need to hit to meet your sales goal. It will also let you know whether or not you are on track to hit your sales targets based on current sales.

You can easily add a chart from the reporting menu to your primary dashboard by clicking the prominent plus symbol.

Ease of Implementation and Use

Setting up Nutshell is very easy. I spent five minutes creating an account and choosing a plan, and then Nutshell was ready to go. Setup will take a little longer if you need to add existing customers or leads to the database.

If you already have a customer database on a spreadsheet or in another CRM, follow this guide to import that data into Nutshell. Nutshell can only import data from .csv files, so you will need to convert any existing data into that format.

When you start Nutshell, a series of handy help screens and tooltips will guide you through initial setup, importing your Google Calendar (optional), and creating your first leads. Thanks to Nutshell's excellent customer support, help with anything that the tooltips don't cover is just a few clicks away.

Mobile App

Nutshell’s mobile app is available for Android and iOS devices. The mobile app has a simple interface consisting of four tabs: database, reports, search, and the company feed. You can add a lead in a couple of taps or create reports in-app similar to how you would do it on your desktop.

Overall, the Nutshell mobile app is rather basic. It can do some things that the desktop app can do, but it does not have many mobile-specific features. I would have liked to see more mobile-specific features, such as speech-to-text data entry for salespeople or call recording, which is missing entirely from the mobile app.

Nutshell Customer Support

Nutshell offers plenty of self-service support through its help center and blog, but if you prefer, you can speak to a live representative over the phone at (888) 336-8808 Monday-Friday between 9am and 4pm ET. You can also contact Nutshell support via online chat on its website during the same hours.

How Much Does Nutshell CRM Cost?

Nutshell offers two pricing tiers, Regular and Pro. The Pro Tier is where you’ll find most of Nutshell's advanced features, such as sales automation, phone call recording, and forecasting, while the Regular tier includes full CRM functionality and basic reporting. 

You can choose monthly or annual billing, and there is a discount for yearly plans.


Nutshell

Nutshell Pro

Monthly Plan Pricing

$19/user/month

$49/user/month

Annual Plan Pricing

$16/user/month

$42/user/month

Contact and Lead Database

Email and Calendar Sync

Pipelines

1

Unlimited

Reporting

Basic Reporting

Sales Automation

X

✓ 

Nutshell Nutshell Visit Site

Bottom Line

Nutshell offers advanced features like email automation and forecast reporting while remaining extremely easy to set up and use. This makes it particularly well suited for small business users and solopreneurs who otherwise might not have access to these features in a format that’s easy to use. Nutshell has excellent customer service with multiple channels, pipeline management, and lead and contact management.

Nutshell’s biggest weakness is its mobile app, which has few mobile-specific features and cannot record calls. The customization options Nutshell offers might be too limiting for large enterprise users, but they’ll be more than sufficient to meet the needs of a small business.

Serguei Solokhine writes for Top10.com. A digital nomad, he loves writing about finance, business, and travel. With degrees in finance and marketing plus five years of experience in the financial services industry, Serguei has developed a wealth of knowledge in personal and corporate finance, marketing, CRM software, and other SaaS platforms. A seasoned writer, his byline has appeared on many popular websites like TechRadar, ITProPortal, and MoneyVisual.

Nutshell reviews

Average • Reviews 3
on
Excellent
33%
Great
0%
Average
0%
Poor
0%
Bad
67%
Sort by
AS
Asya Sharrow
7 years ago
THE Sales Tool for Small Businesses
I don't know how any sales team could get the job without it. Before Nutshell, my team had no formal method to track or work leads. Adopting this sales tool prompted us to build out a sales process that is now a driving factor in our growth. My team can easily communicate within the system and I have visibility into what's going on. I don't know where we'd be without Nutshell!
MH Antor
3 months ago
Very poor and fraud service provider,
Very poor and fraud service provider, Yesterday I upgraded my account and after 5 minutes my account was frozen today my was expire You’ve updated your Nutshell subscription Thank you for being a Nutshell customer. This email is just to confirm your recent plan change. Check out your new plan details to the right: If you have any questions, check out our help center. Your plan: Nutshell Campaigns- 10,000 contacts Payment amount: $100.00 Next invoice date: Jan 10, 2024 Your subscription has expired We’re sorry to see you go, but we thank you for giving us a try. This email confirms that your Nutshell Campaigns- 10,000 contacts subscription is now expired. Please keep this email for your records. If you have any questions or suggestions for us regarding Nutshell, please contact Your plan: Nutshell Campaigns- 10,000 contacts Payment amount: $100.00 Expires: Dec 11, 2023
MH
Michael Hardman
5 months ago
Very poor service
Very poor service. I received an email and text informing me my insurance was cancelled. There is no contact number available to speak to anyone. I contacted Nutshell through online chat, to be informed that I needed to supply some information (No one has contacted me to ask for it). I would send them the information but have no email contact etc to send it to. I have emailed their info email address and received no reply. I've had vehicle insurance for 40+ years and never experienced this before. Definitely not a happy customer, sorry ex-customer. Policy number: 136034588 01

Copyright © 2009 - 2024 Natural Intelligence Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Mailing address:

4023 Kennett Pike #50055

Wilmington, DE 19807

Top10.com is designed to help users make confident decisions online, this website contains information about a wide range of products and services. Certain details, including but not limited to prices and special offers, are provided to us directly from our partners and are dynamic and subject to change at any time without prior notice. Though based on meticulous research, the information we share does not constitute legal or professional advice or forecast, and should not be treated as such.

Reproduction in whole or in part is strictly prohibited.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.