Expert Review

Customer reviews

PetFirst Review

30 reviews
30 people say

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Top10.com StaffByTop10.com StaffAug. 15, 2019

In a Nutshell

PetFirst covers diagnosis and treatment of accidents and illnesses, including cancer, congenital conditions and chronic conditions, with discounts for multi-pet families and no lifetime limits.

pros

  • Covers exam fees
  • Dental coverage

cons

  • Annual limits are low
  • Expensive for single pets

PetFirst PetFirst Visit Site

PetFirst has unusually short waiting periods and covers bilateral conditions, which most other insurers classify as pre-existing. While it is relatively expensive, there are discounts if you insure more than one pet, making PetFirst the ideal choice for a multi-pet household. 

Highlights

  • 14-day money-back guarantee
  • Large multi-pet discounts
  • Short waiting periods

What Does PetFirst Cover?

PetFirst has 3 different plans. All plans cover the diagnosis and treatment of accidents and illnesses, including cancer, congenital conditions and chronic conditions.

The difference between plans lies in the annual limits. The Lifetime 5000 plan lets you claim up to $5,000 a year and the Lifetime 10,000 plan lets you claim up to $10,000 a year. The Lifetime 20,000 plan has the highest annual limit: $20,000. Unlike other insurers, PetFirst does not limit the number of foreign-body ingestions per year, which is great if your pet’s inquisitiveness tends to land him in hot water.

You can also purchase wellness cover at an additional cost. 

Limits and Deductibles

PetFirst’s plans don’t have lifetime limits or per-incident caps. However, they do have annual limits. The cheapest plan has a $5000 annual limit, while the second tier has a $10,000 annual limit. Compared to some other providers, these limits are on the low side. You’ll need to go for the most expensive plan to get the highest annual limit, which is set at $20,000.

There is also a per-incident deductible. You can choose to set it at a low $50 or as high as $500. Payout is a straight 70%, 80% or 90% of your total bill after the deductible, provided it doesn’t exceed the annual limit.

Value for Money

Insuring a young, mixed-breed cat will cost $14/month if you go for 70% reimbursement with a $500 per-incident deductible and a $5000 annual limit. The cost gets higher with a lower deductible and higher reimbursement percentage, even if you keep the low $5,000 annual limit.

PetFirst does offer discounts if you insure more than one pet. You’ll get 5% off when you insure a second pet, and 10% off on every additional policy.

Safety Hints from PetFirst

PetFirst not only has short wait periods for accident and illness coverage, it also has a great blog and tips and tricks for keeping your furry friend happy and healthy. 

Age Limits

PetFirst insures any pet over 8 weeks of age. Unlike other pet insurance providers, however, they don’t have any upper age limits.

PetFirst PetFirst Visit Site

The Fine Print: Exclusions

PetFirst’s exclusions are simple and straightforward. It won’t cover pre-existing conditions. However, unlike most other insurers, there’s no exclusion for bilateral conditions. This means that if your pet had a pre-existing injury to the right leg, a similar injury to the left leg will still be covered.

There’s a 12-month waiting period for ligament tears and disc disease, but cover for most other accidents starts one day after the policy and cover for illnesses starts after 14 days. Most other insurers have 30-day waiting periods.

Conclusion

PetFirst has comprehensive cover and short waiting periods, but low annual limits and per-accident deductibles mean it’s not the best deal out there. Having said this, it offers significant discounts if you insure more than one pet, making it ideal for multi-pet households.

Top10.com StaffByTop10.com StaffJun. 18, 2019
Our editorial staff is comprised of writers who are knowledgeable about online consumer services. We specialize in simplifying the process of choosing the right pet insurance provider for your needs.

PetFirst customer reviews

Based on 30 reviews

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Top reviews

K***, GA
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I think its really good to have, all pets should have it. It could be life or death for your pet. Pets are family as well

L**y, NJ
21 days ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The times I have called, they have provided great customer service. I have yet to use their coverage for my pets but the plan I have is good

S***e, MN
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It is what Banfield offers. I don't know what else to say. I wonder if I am saving money or not.

J***e, CA
21 days ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

My animal was well taken care of and was covered with no problems. I couldn't of asked for better treatment.

B**o, FL
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Love them for what they cover in pet insurance service.. They are a reputable company.

L*****e, NC
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Best Insurance for pets ever credible and they really think care for pest and owners and also they have pets and can really help you through the process

J****e, NY
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It is the cheapest but it is the best on the market for pet insurance. But I want the best insurance for my pets

C****e, TX
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I have used them for years and get a very good return when I submit claims. They are fair and have good customer service

T***A, TX
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I liked everything about it ..good company and easy to used policies and reputable company

K*n, OH
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I am very happy so far with the service we have got from this plan. We are happy to have this plan for our pets. This will help us to give our pets the service that they need.

B*****a, WV
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Decent price for what I get and they bundled insurance for my dog and cat so I got a cheaper rate

V***a, OH
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I gave it and overall rating because they have excellent quality. I makes me feel more comfortable having coverage; this way my sweet animals are protected if anything happens.

M*r, PA
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Service is great there are many options and I have peace of mind for my pet. It's also very affordable

I***a, UT
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

My vet recommended it and it has saved me money. I have a mean dog and he needed shots and the insurance lowered how much I had to pay.

L******n, ME
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It is a good insurance for my pet it covers a lot but I find that the rate is high For what it pays

J****h, NY
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It's a good company I think they care about pets I've used it for a while now at least 6 months and I think I'm going to continue to use it because I have not had any problems as of yet.

L*n, MO
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

The rates aren't cheap but are fairly reasonable. They process claims fast. The customer service reps are fairly helpful and polite.

S******a, AZ
5 days ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It was an expensive insurance but offers some good benefits. I just signed up but so far it's easy to use

S**a, CA
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Works fine and I have no complaints. I have used it before for another pet and liked it so decided to use it again

A*****y, MN
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

They take care of my pets and I never have any issues. They are fantastic and I'd recommend them.

K*****n, WI
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I really love Pet First. I have 2 dogs and a rabbit and would definitely recommend to all my friends.

D***a, CA
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Me and my dog love this insurance. Provides with good coverage for the const of the insurance. My dog is happy with this insurance. :) Also, the customers service at PetFirst is good.

A*a, CA
4 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Overall petfirst was the best plan for my pet and I had the greatest time with the customer service over all this was the best I hope I could stay with this but it was kind of expensive so that's why I quit

T**h, OH
3 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It's just a bit expensive for a pet. I do like how friendly the customer service was when I did call to cancel the service.

T**a, MI
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I wish in there policy they would include a wellness plan without charging more money for it. I feel it's important to take your pet in for a checkup get the vaccines necessary to avoid any illness.

C***s, NY
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

I just signed up a month ago. I read reviews and spoke with people and chose it but I have not yet put it to the test.

A***l, MS
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It is a good pet insurance to have, it's very reliable. The pet insurance is on the side of the pet and helps the pet get the care it needs, especially in an emergency situation.

R***n, PA
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

They are ok and I may switch because the deductibles are high. Also I have exotic big cats and had some issues with coverage for a tiger

L**a, MI
a month ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

At this time it was the cheapest, but still provided the services that I needed to help me take care of my pets

E***B, NC
2 months ago

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

It was too much money for the services I actually used. I would have been better off spending out of pocket only for what I need.

30 reviews