The listings featured on this site are from companies from which this site receives compensation. This influences where, how and in what order such listings appear on this site.

Top10.com is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Rocket Lawyer Review

9.2
excellent
Eileen Bailey

In a Nutshell

Rocket Lawyer is an online legal services company that makes simple work of the often-complicated divorce process. Easy-to-draft divorce documents, step-by-step instructions, and personalized attorney services are all available through the platform. Rocket Lawyer’s divorce services provide professional, guided assistance that takes the strain off what can be an otherwise emotionally trying experience.

pros

  • General and specialty divorce documents
  • On-call attorney network for quick legal advice
  • Separation agreements and child custody documents

cons

  • Must file your own documents
  • Limited bio info on attorneys
Rocket Lawyer Rocket Lawyer Visit Site

What Does Rocket Lawyer Provide?

Rocket Lawyer provides documents, paperwork assistance, and attorney guidance for those undergoing the divorce process. The involved parties have access to a wide range of essential and specialty divorce documents, meaning you’re likely to find the paperwork and resources you need to meet the criteria and draft legally binding divorce documents. 

The process is simple thanks to detailed step-by-step instructions and a nice array of resources to help users understand the divorce process. Users can create, complete, edit, share, and sign their documents on the platform, which simplifies the process and keeps all necessary paperwork organized and on track. 

Here’s a look at some of the essential and supplemental divorce documents you can find on Rocket Lawyer:

  • Divorce Settlement Agreement
  • Power of Attorney for Child
  • Divorce Worksheet
  • Prenuptial Agreement
  • Marriage Separation Agreement
  • Demand for Child Support 
  • Demand for Alimony Payment
  • Child Care Authorization

How Does Getting an Online Divorce with Rocket Lawyer Work?

The process begins with a few questions to determine which documents are necessary for your situation. To qualify, users must meet certain criteria, including that both parties have agreed to the divorce and have already discussed division of assets. 

Once you’ve qualified and have been matched with the correct documents, you can proceed to draft online. Each document includes easy-to-follow step-by-step instructions to ensure that it’s legally binding. You can draft, share, and sign the documents directly from the platform, as well as save or print for future reference.

Rocket Lawyer also offers timeline-specific documents and resources to help you as you move through the process. These include: 

  • Pre-divorce resources such as checklists, worksheets, and marriage separation agreements. 
  • Mid-divorce resources to help you along once you’ve started your paperwork, such as divorce settlement agreements that help you after you’ve reached an agreement on concerns such as property, accounts, and child custody matters. 
  • Affidavit of consent and financial affidavits that will help you move along in the process of filing and transferring property. 

Pricing for Online Divorce

Service
Pricing
Premium Membership
Online Legal Divorce Documents
$39.99 per document
Free

As you can see, the premium membership is a good value if you are interested in ongoing services or special perks. These include an ask-the-attorney service, which costs $49.99 per question for non-members but is free with the premium membership. The premium membership is also available for a seven-day free trial. 

When you sign up, you will also gain access to the company's legal document library and have hundreds of legal forms and documents at your disposal. In addition to this, you can access a huge network of legal articles, legal dictionary terms, and the website's ever-informative legal blog. Members also have access to a team of attorneys from the Rocket Lawyer legal directory.

Rocket Lawyer Background

The legal system was created to help people. But with so many factors, laws, and regulations that vary from state to state, situation to situation, and year to year, most people are at a loss when it comes to legal matters. Rocket Lawyer founder Charley Moore had a mission to change that. His goal was to bring affordable, accessible, and unambiguous legal services to small and medium-sized businesses.

Launched in 2007, Rocket Lawyer has built a rock-solid reputation for offering professional, courteous, and affordable legal services to businesses that otherwise couldn’t afford such assistance. More than a decade later, Rocket Lawyer holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, positive reviews from its users, and all the social acclaim you could ask for.

What Customers Say About Rocket Lawyer

“What amazing customer service! **** **** was fast, efficient, friendly and helpful and took care of my concerns immediately. Wish I could give 10 stars!” - Elizabeth, 12/11/2017

“I believe they offer an outstanding service, and they are very helpful and professional about it as well.” - Bilal F., 04/27/2017

“These folks are AMAZING! I'm a newly paid member and needed some documents filed for my new business. Every time I called with a question they were there to answer. No long time holding on the line. Even when I sent an email I got a quick response. The process of filing my docs through them went smooth, fast and easy. I'd give them a BILLION stars if I could.” - Destinee N., 10/17/2017

Customer Service

Rocket Lawyer has excellent customer service, including multiple support channels. You can reach out via email, phone, or online to one of the on-call attorneys and expect a quick response (guaranteed within one business day).

You can search through Rocket Lawyer's tremendous knowledge base, which is packed with articles, tutorials, and FAQs that address every question imaginable. Additionally, you can hire a lawyer if you want more personalized or involved customer support.

Rocket Lawyer Rocket Lawyer Visit Site

Rocket Lawyer FAQ

Are documents stored on Rocket Lawyer’s website secure?

Yes. Rocket Lawyer uses state of the art security technologies to keep all information safe and protected. Practices include Secure Socket Layers for all data transfers, 128-bit AES encryption, and other policies that safeguard your information.

When I create a document on Rocket Lawyer, are they legally-binding and enforceable?

Absolutely. Rocket Lawyer has a thorough process that involves walking you through each step to make your documents legal and enforceable. There is a convenient legal checklist to follow, instructing you how to make legally-binding documents - according to each state and situation.

How quickly are documents drafted by Rocket Lawyer accessible to me?

Immediately. Upon completion of a document on Rocket Lawyer, it becomes immediately accessible online. You can print or download the document for more convenient use.

Bottom Line

Rocket Lawyer’s goal is to make the divorce process as simple and straightforward as possible. The service combines legal expertise, step-by-step guidance, and a library of legally-binding documents and resources to help clients fulfill the first step in filing for divorce. Add on optional attorney assistance services and you get an accessible, customizable legal service that can simplify an otherwise emotionally trying process.

Eileen is a freelance legal writer who writes for top10.com. She earned a BA in English Literature on the mean streets of the University of South Dakota in 1983, and that’s the degree of which she’s most proud. Finally, her daughter studied modern dance and her son studied game design in college, and they are both currently gainfully employed.

Rocket Lawyer customer reviews

Based on 22 reviews

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Write review

Adjust category ratings

Ease of use

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Brand satisfaction

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Value for money

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Service quality

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Share your experience

People discuss, price, satisfaction level and more.

Write your review

23 Jan 2022

Almost done!

Check that everything's correct, fill in your details, and submit your review!

Anonymous

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

Today

Your review will be screened by our team
Whoo-hoo!
Thanks, we love getting your feedback

Top Reviews

Ease of use

Brand satisfaction

Value for money

Service quality

1 years ago

I like the brand very much and I give RocketLawyer five stars because it helps people to give their opinions.

1 years ago

Everything was easy and customer service was great. I give them a 100 percent for everything for helping legal documents.

1 years ago

I haven't used RocketLawyer for over 5 years. Their documents are always professional easy to comprehend and they offer online fill in sentences customers can fill in details and everything that needs to be done.

1 years ago

The best at what they do and very flexible. The customer service is very helpful and very refreshing.

1 years ago

They meet your every need and are very quick and efficient. They take care of their clients. Help you problem solve situations, and don't over charge for the services they provide.

1 years ago

RocketLawyer is a very good one. They have easy access. Good value for money. Very nice customer service too.

1 years ago

Very good quality service, which has been conducted profesionally and with in timery maner. Gave us the help we needed on some legal info

1 years ago

Very easy to use online and the forms are terrific. I have used the forms for everything from a will to research for a lawsuit.

1 years ago

They showed me how to complete every thing that I needed to legally create some forms. They helped create a lease and also start a business. Their customer service was awesome too.

1 years ago

They do amazing work. Very good company and they really get the people's attention with the reliability of their work.

1 years ago

I've always been the type to research everything myself. I love the fact that I can perform (to an extent) my own legal work with the help of highly trained individuals.

1 years ago

I gave them a high rating becuase of their polite service and very low rates. They offer the best service when it comes to online business documents/legal service

1 years ago

I have had all my questions answered with a high degree of success. They have also provided me with help with several legal documents for my family, including updating my will, and setting up a power of attorney for my grandparents. I've also had very pleasant experiences with the customer representatives, who are always very polite and considerate.

1 years ago

They are authentic and professional everytime I use their services. I love using them to help with any questions and problems I have for them.

1 years ago

Very usefuly and with good features. It is a good choice for me, attractive and impressive.

1 years ago

RocketLawyer has excellent customer service and has a great deal on prices and how to get things done.

1 years ago

I am happy with there performance. I really enjoy there service. It's a brand that always help me do my work.

1 years ago

This service let me find and pick a lawyer in my area fairly quickly. I was sceptical about the service but it worked out well. Not guilty.

1 years ago

It is not so easy to use but I think that it is worth it, the customer service is excellent and it is affordable.

1 years ago

I gave RocketLawyer a rating of two because my experience with this company was unpleasant to say the least.

22 reviews